Dhofar edges Oman to stay as OPL leader

Action from the OPL match between Dhofar and Oman at Seeb Sports Stadium on Thursday

A third successive win for ten-time champions Dhofar kept it on top of the Oman Professional League (OPL) after the third-round matches concluded on the weekend.

On Thursday, Dhofar posted a scrappy 1-0 win over Oman at the Seeb Sports Stadium to be the only team to record three straight wins this season.

In a match that saw both the teams reduced to ten men each with the sending off of Dhofar's Basil al Rawahi and Oman's Adel al Shibli, the 40th minute penalty, converted by Jordan's Odai Khader, proved to be the decisive strike.

Defending champion Al Suwaiq was held to a 1-1 draw by His Majesty's Cup winner Al Nasr at the Sohar Sports Complex with Khalid al Hajri's 37th minute strike for the visitors being cancelled out by Suwaiq's Mohsin al Ghassani soon after the interval off a spot kick.

Former champions Al Arouba and Muscat along with Mirbat recorded their second wins of the season with Mirbat edging past Sohar 1-0 at the Salalah Youth Sports Complex on Thursday.

On Friday, Al Arouba was an emphatic 3-0 winner over Sur in a Sharqiyah derby at the Sur Sports Complex while Muscat survived a scare from Rustaq, winning 3-2 at the Seeb Sports Stadium.

Also, Saham and Al Nahda tasted their first wins of the season as Saham edged past Majees 1-0 at the Sohar Sports Complex, a result that saw the dismissal of Majees coach, Obaid al Jabri. The club has yet to name a replacement. Saham had lost its initial two matches to Sohar (0-3) and Dhofar (1-3).

Al Nahda, which had two draws in its first two games against Sur (1-1) and Al Suwaiq (1-1) respectively, found its winning touch as it defeated last year's runner-up Al Shabab 2-0 at the Seeb Sports Stadium.

With the national team camp in Jordan, the OPL takes a break till September 14.

Standings [after three rounds]: 1 Dhofar (9 points), 2 Al Arouba (6), 3 Mirbat (6), 4 Muscat (6), 5 Al Nasr (5), 6 Al Nahda (5), 7 Al Suwaiq (5), 8 Sohar (4), 9 Al Shabab (3), 10 Rustaq (3), 11 Saham (3), 12 Sur (2), 13 Majees (1), 14 Oman (0).

muscat daily recycle