Omani nationals can travel to Russia’s Far East without visa

Muscat - 

Nationals from 18 countries, including Oman, will be able to enter Russia's far eastern Vladivostok city without visa, the Russian government said on Monday. 

Russian Prime Minister Dmitry Medvedev signed a decree allowing businessmen and tourists to enter the country through the Vladivostok port, according to a statement.

The only requirement is that they need to enter their personal details on a website created for this purpose, it added. The list includes all six GCC member states and Algeria, Brunei, India, Iran, China, North Korea, Morocco, Mexico, Singapore, Tunisia, Turkey and Japan. Vladivostok, a major Pacific port city, is the administrative centre of Primorsky Krai province, bordering with China, North Korea, and the Sea of Japan.

“I have recently approved the list of countries, whose nationals can take advantage of the preferential regime,” Russian news agency TASS quoted Medvedev as saying. “Businessmen and tourists will not need to undergo the traditional procedure of Russian visa process. It will be enough for foreigners to enter their data on a special website.”

Russia is proactively forming a modern infrastructure and creating special regimes in the Far East. Cancellation of visa procedures for tourists and businessmen “will promote growth of investment and tourist attractiveness of the Far East,” the Prime Minister said. Medvedev added that the 18 countries from various regions were selected under the reciprocity principle.

“This is not because these states are situated at a closer or longer distance. We are appropriately introducing bilateral agreements on visa-free travel for those ready to use such an approach for us.”

muscat daily recycle